Message Boards » Fitness and Exercise

TOPIC: Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred...reviews?

← Previous 1 3 4
← Previous 1 3 4
 
Ic_disabled_photos
Topic has been inactive for 30 days or more and images have been disabled.
Display All Images
July 12, 2012 7:21 AM
I am thinking of starting the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred program. Is it worth the money and does it work?
July 12, 2012 7:25 AM
I'm on day 9 of the DVD, and yes, it works well! There are three levels in it so you're not doing the same monotonous moves for an entire month. My pants are already starting to not fit well. :)
  25526346
July 12, 2012 8:54 AM
bump...

I've started it and I really like it so far, but I'd love to hear more stories about it. I've heard nothing but good things thus far!
July 12, 2012 9:02 AM
A) You can get it for free on YouTube. Or in the store, it's only $9.
B) I'm on Day 6 and absolutely love it!!!! It's tough but as the days go by it gets easier.

I highly recommend it! And I have fun doing it :D I hope my result turn out to be as great as I know I'll feel in 24 days.
  23309394
July 12, 2012 10:09 AM
I got it for around $6 on amazon.com
  23485825
July 12, 2012 10:12 AM
It's great! I am really liking it. Even my husband agrees that it's a good workout (and he's been doing Insanity, P90X and Kenpo.) You will be SORE for the first few days. But keep doing the workout every day anyway-- it actually helps with the sore muscles.
  16046421
July 12, 2012 10:53 AM
I haven't lost but 2.5 lbs but I've definitely lost a couple of inches between my waist, hips, belly, and thighs. I feel much stronger and my endurance has increased dramatically. It's definitely worth it. Try it on youtube first to see if you like it.
  24688222
July 12, 2012 11:17 AM
I'm only on day 3 and still sore, but I like it a lot. I just watch it on YouTube for free....
  19933337
July 13, 2012 4:10 AM
Thanks guys for the input, I am going to try it out.
July 13, 2012 7:08 AM
I saw that in the store the other day and actually bought her kickboxing dvd and yoga....I have been doing combos of both of those for a few days and I will just say this, she looks like she does for a reason. I am a huge fan and plan to buy 30 day shred today. I don't care about losing weight, but about losing inches, feeling strong and looking better in my clothes :) Have fun!!
  3806371
July 13, 2012 7:10 AM
What can you lose at $8 right?? Seriously, it's a great work out. It 's now part of my weekly routine!! Get it, you won't regret it!
  6516604
July 16, 2012 9:40 AM
I'm on day 5 of 30 day shred I love it! I just stream the videos off of YouTube. After the 5 days I already realize my stamina has gone up I decided to pump it up a bit and now use level one 30 day shred as a warm up then do week one of ripped in 30 days by Jillian michaels. I use 8 lb dumbells( killed me the first 3 days!!) I'm hoping to lose a lot of weight. This is my first bout of really working out since about two years ago. The sweat just poure off me but for about an hour a day counting warm up and warm down its an awesome workout. Good luck!!
July 16, 2012 11:28 AM
I started today and so far I like it. I wanted to ramp up my workouts and decided to add this one in rotation along with my other activities. I will say my legs are definitely feeling the burn already which is a good thing.
  5713973
July 16, 2012 11:41 AM
JM will change your life.
I'm on the 2nd DVD, ripped in 30.
It's amazing.

In fact,
Having others who are going through the same torture as you helps a whole heck of a lot:
http://www.myfitnesspal.com/groups/home/7044-ripped-in-30-challenge-summer-2012
Edited by raycolvin On July 16, 2012 11:41 AM
October 3, 2012 10:51 PM
I am planning to start my weight loss journey since it has been 26months since I gave birth and didnt manage to lose or put on weight since then..I am currently 180lbs and need to become 143lbs within 6months..

I was planning to get either Jillian Michaels 30 day shred plus this cd : extreme shed and shred..I would like your inputs as to which is better and do we have to follow her meal plan exactly?
  29039750
October 4, 2012 6:21 AM
QUOTE:

I am planning to start my weight loss journey since it has been 26months since I gave birth and didnt manage to lose or put on weight since then..I am currently 180lbs and need to become 143lbs within 6months..

I was planning to get either Jillian Michaels 30 day shred plus this cd : extreme shed and shred..I would like your inputs as to which is better and do we have to follow her meal plan exactly?


I would suggest starting with 30 day shred. In my opinion I would advise not following her meal plan and just using MFP to track your calories/carbs/fat. Ensure that you're eating plenty of veggies, drinking tons of water and just log your food daily. As long as you're fitting everything within that, you will lose weight. It's so much easier to follow (to me) than a meal plan.
  25526346
October 4, 2012 6:29 AM
I'm doing it and on level two and I can't fit into ANY, NOT ONE of my jeans without wearing a belt. lost inches more than pounds I'd say, though I'm not seeing a difference but my clothes says different.
  23990459
October 4, 2012 7:28 AM
Love it, love it, love it. My 2 cents:

1. You don't have to do it 30 days *in a row * - JM advises that you take recovery days.
2. It is okay to spend more than 10 days at each level.
3. Form is more important than keeping up. Make sure you are doing the moves correctly, then worry about speed.
3. It is okay to substitute moves (I do high knees instead of rock star jumps)
4. It is okay to customize it to you. If that means lower weights, or higher weights, or extra stretching when you are done, or following Anita for some of the moves, and Natalie for others -- okay.

Just remember, there will be no test at the end of the 30 days. What is important is that you find a program that you can do, but is also challenging enough that you progress.
Edited by thrld On October 4, 2012 7:29 AM
October 4, 2012 10:04 AM
It works extremely well! I did it and LOVED it! I didn't take my measurements before/after (would strongly suggest you do if you get it) but there was a noticeable difference in my arms and tummy within the first few weeks.. The Levels are a natural progression so at first you don't even realize how strong you're getting. I now have muscle tone in my shoulders and arms! I still do Levels 1 & 2 once or twice a week because it's a great little workout for 20 minutes each level!
  7978965
April 1, 2013 8:46 PM
I just started it! I am sore but I will feel better in the end! I am also using the MFP to track my food and drinking a lot of water!! For the price you can't beat it!!
April 2, 2013 3:45 AM
The 30 Day Shred is a love/hate relationship for me wink . I will say that it is hard and challenging, but it is not too hard or too challenging that you will not be able to do it. I did not lose any weight, but I lost 4 3/4 inches after 15 days (I'm on Level 3, Day 2 currently. So I haven't taken my ending measurements). For someone who has little children and doesn't have a lot of time to workout, it definitely is a nice 30 minute workout to fit in (warm up and cool down included). I can squeeze it in during nap time. I've seen other workouts that are an hour/ hour and a half. As a mother with little children, I don't have that much time to devote to a workout. Definitely find some friends that you can report to every single day you complete the challenge. You will want to quit when you hit Level 2. During Level 2, all I wanted to do was quit. If it wasn't for a group that I made on facebook of close friends that were to keep me accountable, I never would've gotten through Level 2. Find someone who's going to get on your nerves and bug you to no end. It is so worth it. I feel stronger, healthier, and capable of anything!!!

It is free on youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KR7BK7jpu3M
Also, there's a calendar online that you can print off that can help keep you on track as to which day you are on. That's helped me.
  33390858
April 2, 2013 3:49 AM
How do you log your calories burned from doing the 30DS work out on MFP?
  2052140
April 2, 2013 8:23 AM
In another post, someone gave the following equation to find out how many calories you burn completing the 30 day shred...

Take 3.267 and multiply by your weight. Then divide that answer by 3. That will give you the number of calories burned. I just created a new exercise and titled it 30 day shred. I logged it as 20 minutes.

So using my weight as an example: 3.267*201= 656.667 Divide that by 3... 656.667/3= 218 calories burned


hope this helps
Edited by cook6609 On April 2, 2013 8:26 AM
  33390858
April 2, 2013 9:54 AM
QUOTE:

In another post, someone gave the following equation to find out how many calories you burn completing the 30 day shred...

Take 3.267 and multiply by your weight. Then divide that answer by 3. That will give you the number of calories burned. I just created a new exercise and titled it 30 day shred. I logged it as 20 minutes.

So using my weight as an example: 3.267*201= 656.667 Divide that by 3... 656.667/3= 218 calories burned


hope this helps



Genius! Sounds about right :) Thanks!
  2052140
May 21, 2013 1:00 PM
Hey all! I have a question and im hoping someone has an answer :)
I started the 30 day shred ( on day 3 now) but unlike the recommendations i cant do the workout everyday, i can only do it 5 times a week with 2 rest days back to back. If i stay on my diet, and give the workout my all when i do it, will i still see results?? I know its had to say but just an opinion would help. Thanks!!
  32638930

Message Boards » Fitness and Exercise

Posts by members, moderators and admins should not be considered medical advice and no guarantee is made against accuracy.