Message Boards » Food and Nutrition

TOPIC: What are your opinions on WhoNu Cookies?

 
Ic_disabled_photos
Topic has been inactive for 30 days or more and images have been disabled.
Display All Images
May 19, 2011 10:45 AM
I just bought some from Wallyworld. I had never heard of them before. They taste good, but what are your opinions on them?

Good or Bad?
May 19, 2011 10:48 AM
I love them. But don't know if they are necessarily "good" for you.
  7042208
May 19, 2011 10:54 AM
Those look fantastic thanks for posting! Love cookies, way too much, are these a nice size or smallish?
  5723871
May 19, 2011 10:55 AM
About the size of an oreo.
  7042208
May 19, 2011 10:56 AM
bout the size of an oreo
May 19, 2011 10:56 AM
QUOTE:

About the size of an oreo.


lol you got to it before me lol
May 19, 2011 10:57 AM
would love to try them - where do you find them (besides Walmart)?
Edited by dmoses On May 19, 2011 10:57 AM
  128391
May 19, 2011 11:01 AM
I saw those the other day. Flipped over the box and looked at the nutritional facts and put them back down. Just not worth it to me.. I cant remember specificly what it was that made me put it back, but i always look at sodium and sugar content first.. They sure looked good tho..
  3603828
May 19, 2011 11:03 AM
what's the deal with these cookies? Are they supposed to be virtuous in some way? Haven't heard of them...please enlighten me happy
  115737
May 19, 2011 11:06 AM
QUOTE:

would love to try them - where do you find them (besides Walmart)?


Not sure. This is the first I have ever seen them.
May 19, 2011 11:09 AM
QUOTE:

what's the deal with these cookies? Are they supposed to be virtuous in some way? Haven't heard of them...please enlighten me happy


The box says:
As much fiber as a bowl of oatmeal
As much vitamin C as a cup of blueberries
As much vitamin A as an 8 oz glass of tomato juice
As much vitamin B12 as a cup of cottage cheese & fruit
As much calcium & vitamin D as an 8oz glass of milk
As much iron as a cup of spinach
As much vitamin E as 2 cups of carrot juice
May 19, 2011 11:11 AM
serving size 3 cookies
150 cals
7g fat
100mg sodium
9g sugar
May 19, 2011 11:11 AM
Can't find the cals/sugar/sodium online....fishy.

But apparently this is on the box;

» As much fiber as a bowl of oatmeal
» As much Vitamin C as a cup of blueberries
» As much Calcium and Vitamin D as an 8 oz. glass of milk
» As much Iron as a cup of spinach
» As much Vitamin E as two cups of carrot juice
» As much Vitamin A as an 8 oz. glass of tomato juice
» As much Vitamin B12 as a cup of cottage cheese and fruit

I'll just stick to my 30 cal Arrowroot cookies. I used them in anything that calls for gram crackers or crumbs b/c they taste better and are lower in cals.
  1100181
May 19, 2011 11:13 AM
That's the same amount of cals of 90% of the cookies out there so I guess it's just the nutrients and even then, they are so processed to stick that stuff in there so..... it's a tossup. They aren't in Canada I'm sure anyway.
  1100181
July 19, 2011 9:52 AM
In school last year, we had to do a project in our TAG classes. It was called Travel Mates. We would send our Travel Mate to somebody, then they would send it, and so on. And if you got a Travel Mate, you would sign it, and you could send postcards, hats, souvenirs, anything really. And my classmate, Zach, sent his on it's way and it eventually got to somebody in the WhoNu? business. So instead of a hat or a post card, they sent back BOXES of WhoNu? cookies. So we all got to eat them and we took a survey, picked what one was our favorite, and described what we thought of the cookies in full detail. They're the size of an Oreo. And Walmart does sell them. We, with the help of our teacher, did the math on the nutrition. And everything turned out really healthy! And they taste great too! WhoNu? :)
July 28, 2011 7:24 PM
Read the ingredients, folks. These cookies contain hydrogenated oil: trans fat. Evillll... They are far from healthy. Do they have nutritional value? Yes. Are they healthful? No.

(They also contain high fructose corn syrup and artificial flavors, but that might not bother everyone else as much as it does me.)
  2266182
January 22, 2012 12:35 PM
READ THIS REVIEW!

http://www.feedmeimcranky.com/2011/08/16/whonu-cookies-should-be-called-hellno/
March 2, 2012 5:24 PM
I had three of them for a snack/dessert tonight. They tasted exactly the same as Oreos but maybe not as creamy. It fit into my allowances for today other than sugar but I worked out a TON today so it doesn't really phase me any. :)
  12374320
March 2, 2012 5:38 PM
I hate healthwashing. In this case, I'd support Oreos over WhoNu any day. At least we know Oreos are unhealthy treats. And this particular healthwashed cookie has trans fat and gets it fiber from dubious sources to boot.

Eat real food to get your vitamins and fiber. Eat cookies for treats.
  8648431
March 2, 2012 5:59 PM
They were alright, but wouldn't use calories on them. Rather have a small piece of really good dark chocolate
March 2, 2012 6:02 PM
Now I really want an oreo.
March 2, 2012 6:02 PM
Get nutrients from foods they actually occur in. Get a sweet fix from something that isn't processed to death!

Message Boards » Food and Nutrition

Posts by members, moderators and admins should not be considered medical advice and no guarantee is made against accuracy.