Dakitten2's profile

dakitten2

59 years old
Female
Lexington, KY
"A Journey with Many Friends!"

About Me:

I'm a couch potato (or was) who retired at the age of 47. I've had knee replacements in both knees, one at age 50 and one at age 56. My first knee replacement was extremely complicated. The doctor broke my leg while doing the replacement which caused additional surgeries and a very long recuperation time.

Right now (11/01/11) I am only in the second week of my journey. My friend Ginger was looking for an exercise buddy at the YMCA and I was going through all this back business with my doctors at the same time. I was given 4 choices of what I could do by my doctor, one of which was to lose some weight. I opted for that option and went to a dietician for help with a diet and exercise plan.

My friend Ginger and I are doing acquatics (only thing I can do at this time with my recent knee replacement) together and trying to inspire and motivate each other. She was already using MyFitnessPal and got me connected. What a wonderful tool this is to assist in my food changes and diet.

So I dug my scales out from under the magazines and weighing each Thursday.

Updated: Recipes I have added to the Recipe Forum.

Cranberry Pork Medallions (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/821087-cranberry-pork-tenderloin-medallions)
Banana Split Yogurt & Jam (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/716559-banana-split-yogurt-jam)
Easy Chicken Pesto (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/522069-easy-chicken-pesto)
Mediterranean Pork Chops
(http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/486119-mediterranean-pork-chops)
Banana Coconut Bake (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/486020-banana-coconut-bake)
Chiles Rellenos Puffs (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/485964-chiles-rellenos-puffs)
Spicy Sweet Potatoes (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/485332-spicy-sweet-potatoes)
Roasted Cauliflower & 16 Garlic(http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/485324-roasted-cauliflower-16-garlic-cloves)
Peanut Butter Nuggets (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/485313-peanut-butter-nuggets)
Teriyaki Chicken (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/479138-weight-watchers-teriyaki-chicken)
Bourbon Chicken (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/478905-bourbon-chicken-with-no-bourbon)
Apple Enchiladas with Cinnamon Vanilla Sauce (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/477860-apple-enchiladas-with-cinnamon-vanilla-sauce)
Cheese & Tomato Muffins (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/477852-cheese-tomato-muffins)
Cinnamon Cookies (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/477826-cinnamon-cookies)
Chicken Pinwheels (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/472558-chicken-pinwheels-appetizer)
Bacon Wrapped Scallops (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/472550-bacon-wrapped-scallops-appetizer)
Crockpot Hula Chicken (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/472533-crockpot-hula-chicken)
Armenian Herb Marinade Grilled Chicken (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/472341-armenian-herb-marinade-grilled-chicken-breasts)
Apple Raisin Salad (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/472328-apple-raisin-salad)
Oven BBQ Pork Chops (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/472273-oven-bbq-pork-chops)
Armenian Potatoes (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/470445-armerian-potatoes)
Chicken Rolls with Cranberry Filling (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/470434-chicken-rolls-with-cranberry-filling)
Pepper Jack Stuffed Chicken (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/470421-pepper-jack-stuffed-chicken)
Glazed Lemon Streusel Muffins (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/469177-glazed-lemon-streusel-muffins)
Mexican Eggplant Casserole (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/469161-mexican-eggplant-casserole)
Zesty Chicken Breast (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/469148-zesty-chicken-breast)
Apple Butter Pork Chops
Weight Watchers Fiesta Tamale Pie
Weight Watchers Caramel Apple Fluff
Baked Chicken Bites with Italian Salsa (appetizer)
Oven Roasted Veggies (from the South Beach Plan)
Grape Salad
Ummm Ali
Lasagna Soup
Sauerkraut Soup
Southern BBQ Beef Tips
Grecian Green Beans
Tortilla Pizza
Potatoes Nicoise
Cajun Corn
Cherry Tomato Clafouti
Apple Nut Carrot Muffins
Coconut Chicken
Chicken & Cheese lasagna Roll Ups
Arabic Green Beans with Beef
Pork Chops with Apples & Cranberries
Cranberry Walnut Slaw
Crockpot Chicken Pasta with Smoked Gouda
Pork Tenderloin with Spicy Bourbon Sauce
Crockpot Tex Mex Chicken
Crockpot Cranberry Apple Chicken
Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Sauce
Grecian Tomato Salad

Why I want to get in shape

To be a healthier me!
To be able to do things without tiring out in 5 minutes!
To be able to look in the mirror without scaring myself!

My Inspirations

  • My Friend - Ginger who is a wonderful motivator and friend
  • My Skinny Partner - Deborah who supports me every day
  • My Dad - Who has always had to fight with his weight too

Friends


View All (22)

dakitten2's Recent Forum Posts

View All
  • DC Navy Yard Shooting

    Mon 09/16/13 06:49PM Last I heard was 13 died including the shooter. Such a horrible day for so many people and for all of the United States. I'm praying fo...

  • How accurate is the FitBit Flex??

    Mon 09/16/13 04:31PM According to the Fitbit Flex manual: Device is water resistant, and can be submerged up to 10 meters. (which I believe is about 33 fe...

My Progress

12132733

Recent Activity

Dakitten2's activity is only viewable by her friends. If you know Dakitten2, send her a message or add her as a friend.